top of page
Ian Prowse 'The People Not the Crown EP' 10" Vinyl

Ian Prowse 'The People Not the Crown EP' 10" Vinyl


What was ‘Oliver’s Army’?
Who are the ‘Sandinista’s’?
What is ‘Going Underground’?


13 year old Ian Prowse couldn’t have had a better education than the one encoded in the music of his era. It was the greatest explosion of conviction music the UK had ever seen.


Fast-forward to 2020, Britain and the world, more than ever, needs music to remind us that democracy doesn’t start and stop at a vote. That debate, awareness and freedom of thought is needed to make sure our political leaders are held accountable. Music can remind us our assorted histories doesn’t always have to define a future injustice.


The People Not The Crown is a 4-track, 10” EP of protest. Taking two songs from his days leading Pele (cult 90s band) ‘Raid The Palace’ and ‘The Sport Of Kings’, one song from the acclaimed Here I Lie album ‘All The Royal Houses’ and a brand new track called ‘You Don’t Own Me’. A song specially written and exclusively for Record Store Day.


We have no idea what the future holds for any of us, but we do know – now is not the time to sit back and wait to see what happens. With the power of music we believe now is the time for change.

bottom of page